Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New boiler questions

Options
mpage
mpage Member Posts: 5
First off, I'm not a pro, I'm a hobbyist, and this system is not to heat my entire house. Thought I should get that out of the way for those that don't want to answer tech questions to non pro's.

I have a pex radiant system which i laid in my garage and basement. Heat loss calculations were 19k Btuh garage, and 25k Btuh basement. These numbers have proven to be way too conservative as I keep the garage around 50* and only want it at 60-65 on the weekends. The basement is getting a lot of heat from the force air ductwork above.

I haven't had the funds to finish off the system until recently, but 5 years ago i came upon a rheem 74pvn on demand water heater which I've wrestled with each winter and have actually gotten pretty decent results. On to the question.

I want to buy a condensing boiler. The caveat is that my wife wants me to install a pool heater also. So I'm wanting to buy a condensing boiler and heat exchanger for the pool. The pool is a 27' above ground in the Chicago area, which I've found the recommended size is 100k to 200k heater. I'm willing to under-size the heat source and run the pump longer if i need a bigger jump in temps.

1) Will i be sorry if i do this? If so why?
2) I'm leaning towards HTP Munchkin contender MC80 or Navien NHB-110. Opinions on either company or product line?
3) Is it a bad idea to oversize the boiler even though it modulates down the range i need for heating? I know the ideal for heating would be the smaller 50 for each brand but thought i should up it for the pool's btu need.

I'm leaning towards the Navien, even though i would prefer to support an American company. The Navien has wider range which seems to be what i need for what i'm trying to do.