Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Recent Operating Data

Options
PMJ
PMJ Member Posts: 1,265
edited February 2015 in Strictly Steam
Attached is some data for my system for the last 34 days. In in collecting this data I have discovered that my boiler is downfired significantly (like 30%) from what the rating is. There is a regulator which must be lowering the gas pressure that much. I have never before actually clocked the meter as I always felt I had plenty of capacity. But now it turns out that I have lots of experience with a downfired boiler to share. The boiler is rated at 462,000 input and 386,000 output. I have found that the input is really more like 327,000.

When looking at the attached data remember that my goal with my control system is to increase the length of call times to even out the heat. I do this by increasing the number of cycles and decreasing burn times. I am operating on the logic that perfectly even heat is when the room temp remains exactly constant because a magical control system provides exactly what is lost continuously. With such a theoretically perfect control system the first call once initiated would never end. Since burner on/off is all I have to work with I do lots of cycles.

The data shows that my system now spends about 80% of the time calling for heat, cycling the boiler in short runs, and sinking into vacuum between each burn.

I bet I've made a mistake somewhere so I'll apologize in advance. I haven't attached a file before so if it doesn't work perhaps someone can coach me through it.

1926 1000EDR Mouat 2 pipe vapor system,1957 Bryant Boiler 463,000 BTU input, Natural vacuum operation with single solenoid vent, Custom PLC control

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    Options
    What is your peak pressure when firing? One pipe, or two?