Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

water line + LWCO

joe7
joe7 Member Posts: 15
We have a retentively new gas boiler for my 1 pipe steam heat system. It’s a 250,000btu Weil-McLain

I read the boiler manual were it says that the water line should be 23 3/16” from the bottom.

My boiler has 2 LWCO’s. 1) Series 67 float-type installed near the sight glass. 2) Probe Type LWCO installed on the Hartford Loop.

I have a question and a problem: (see attached pics)

Question: I’m no expert, but it seems that the higher, float type LWCO is installed right at the “water line”. The starting point of the water – as seen on the sight glass – begins about an inch ABOVE the water line. (Being that the LWCO is at the water line, the water will never go low…). Is this a problem for optimal steam efficiency? In other works: is it ok for the boiler to operate on a regular basis with water higher the recommended water line?
(also, when I perform the weekly “blow down” on the series 67, it automatically shuts down the boiler and usually calls for more water… since the cut-off level seems to be close the water line)

Problem: the lower, probe-type LWCO shuts itself down very often and I need to press the reset button. I don’t understand why this happens. I have never seen the water on sight glass lower then about half… what can possibly be the problem?

Thanks. Happy new year!

Comments

• Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    First off, that McDonnell Miller #67 is not suppose to be up on that elbow off of the sight glass plumbing. The Tee on that plumbing should be turned sideways and the brass nipple is a straight shot into the #67 and puts you Low water level at about a quarter to a third the way up the glass. They obviously cut the LWCO vent pipe to make it fit so that will need to be replaced.