Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Well-McLain boiler and ODR

Hi,
I’m a bit new to hydronic heating so forgive me if I say anything silly. I have a Well-Mclain boiler from 1984. I couldn’t find a model number on it and the CP lookup on their site didn’t give one either. It's 110k BTU. I’ve been advised to add an outdoor reset to it. What I really want to do is to just run the wire or sensor for it right now (drywall is being installed in about a week) and add the control as well as zone it over the summer. Is this possible/advisable? If so, which ones do you suggest? From my brief searching it seems like there aren’t universal temperature sensors that just plug into pretty much any control mechanism. If I have to, or it is strongly suggested that I buy the control now I, was looking at the SR501-OR-4. I want to make sure that this will work with my existing boiler which has a new 3 speed Grundfos 1/25 HP pump on it.
Thanks

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Good advice. As long as he doesn't have a tankless Coil in that Weil-McLain 568 boiler.

Running that *68 on strict ODR will kill it faster that a road kill raccoon.

Driving a 1984 (30 year old) Vintage auto daily to work and back? 1984 cars Weil-Mclain 68 series boilers were really efficient 30 years ago in their day. When they were replaced in 1994, the WGO's were/are much more efficient.

IMO.
  • icesailor
    And if it doesn't have a tankless and you go to Cold Start (same as ODR), you will have a wonderful bag of Kibbles & Bits when you properly clean the boiler. If it ever has been properly cleaned. That means the front comes off. If the 4 bolts on the front haven't ever been slathered with Never-Seize, don't even try to get them off. Breaking one off requires serious skill.
  • RobG
    RobG Member Posts: 1,850