Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Beckett Gun problem

Options
This is my first time to the forum and I appreciate any suggest/help...thanks.

Ok, I own a home and have some knowledge about how things work and can fix alot of things. I have a beckett gun that is about 18 years old but works great. The problem, last season everything worked fine, my oil company sent the tech to clean the boiler, as always. He vaccums, changes the filters, the nozzle (Hago) and the basic things. HOWEVER, this year he changes the electrodes stating that the old one are wearing out. After all said and done, he fires it up and he's done. I starting using the boiler for the winter and I noticed that the Beckett Gun starts in the beginning to go off and on and then continues to work after that. I'm not concerned, however, a few weeks later I noticed that the gun would do it more and more (flames going off and on) only this time it trips the reset button. I reset it and it does it again, I reset same thing, I reset it again and it works. I call the tech, he comes over looks at the gun tells the everything seems to work but the electrodes had to be adjusted. He adjusts the electrodes and everything is fine. few days later the gun does the same thing, but only in the beginning of start up and then runs fine and then maybe once or twice in the duration of the run time. The question, should I have him adjust the electrodes again?

Thanks

Comments

• billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    edited December 2014
    Options