Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Trying to rebalance my steam system

Options
Sethamin
Sethamin Member Posts: 58
edited December 2014 in Strictly Steam
I have a 4-story townhouse with a 1 pipe steam heating system, and it's never quite heated the house evenly, so I'm now trying to rebalance the system. I bought the "Balancing Steam Systems Using a Vent Capacity Chart" e-book, and I've put together what I think makes sense for what my vent sizes should be. Since I've never done this before, can someone take a look and tell me if what I have here makes sense?

Specifically, I have several risers that have multiple radiators hanging off them, but no vent at the top of the riser. How should I treat these? I included the whole riser for the "Total Air" of the topmost radiator, but I wasn't sure if that was correct.

I also have one radiator where the air vent on it is at the very top of the radiator, which is the wrong location for steam. As a result, the vent closes early (before the radiator is hot top to bottom). It seems fine since it's oversized for that location, but how should I size the vent for it? It will clearly not push out all the air before closing so I should probably reduce the vent size, but I'm not sure by how much.

My diagram is attached, and my spreadsheet that catalogues all my radiators is here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Ae5IRmkorrb3v3ELV2ihsF1R0xp8wFL6CkZysA0Sraw/edit?usp=sharing

Thanks!

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    Options
    First of all, make sure your main venting is generous to the point of overkill, and the radiator vents are slower.