Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

HELP: Any A/C condenser coil repair experts near Bergen county NJ???

I have a 5 year old Goodman condenser unit R410A 2.5ton 13 Seer. No more cool air and it's 1 month out of its 5 year warranty. Serviceman came by today and says that the condenser coil tube is cracked and there is a leak. He says that the coil tube is too thin for soldering and the whole unit needs to be replaced. I'm a novice and am looking for a second opinion. I have a very old house and the condenser unit that came with the house (second floor) is still running strong. The irony is that the second zone I installed 5 years ago (Spacepak system) died on me so quickly. Please advise.

D Cha

Comments

• Techman
    Techman Member Posts: 2,144
    Leaking coil

I guess that depends on where , EXACTLY WHERE ,the leak is. I had one today, the leak is on the copper tubing of the discharge header going into the cond coil.Pretty much , a normal repair. So ,take a looksee and then decide.
  • Spence
    Spence Member Posts: 316
    Too Thin for Brazing?

I wonder what they did at the factory, then.
  • Techman
    Techman Member Posts: 2,144
    Who's a Brazer ? Who ain't?

You use a delicate touch!
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Delicate Touch:

Its hard to have a "delicate touch" with a dual tipped Turbo-Torch (I didn't know they made such an animal) with a MAPP gas cylinder.
  • dcha
    dcha Member Posts: 50
    Thanks

Thanks for your replies. Any recommended professionals in the northern nj area that can take a look for me?
  • Spence
    North Bergen

Check with Thatcher; JStar on the wall. You'll get something unusual; an honest opinion.
  • dcha
    Glad to hear JStar recommended again

He installed a new steam furnace and header for me last year!
  • Spence
    Leaking Coil