Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Poor radiant floor hydronic installation

samsimg
samsimg Member Posts: 4
I need professional advice from the community regarding the radiant floor and DHW hydronic installation in our newly purchased 2 story built green home. I'm an Electrical Engineer and have a sense for engineering, but what I really do not like what I see in our home.

Our system comprises of a Navien thankless combi boiler for radiant floor heating and DHW. The radiant floor system has 2 zones with pumps. The DHW system has a 5 gallon hot water buffer tank in line and a demand activated hot water circulation system. See picture.

From a design point of view this is all very good, BUT the way it is executed/implemented gives me a goose bums. I need some professional advice whether our installation is acceptable or not. According to my standards this is very poor craftsmanship and I am asking the builder to re-do it and create a proper hydronic panel.

Thanks,

Sam

Comments

• Snowmelt
    Snowmelt Member Posts: 1,405
    edited June 2014
    Where to start

Did it pass inspection.

There are so many things that's wronge I can't even start.

Where are you located ?

No need for a pressure reducer , I didn't see any servicing valves on the machine .

Why is that expansion tank on a water side and not heat, you need one on both side, I'm not sure that's passable.
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Installation:

Simply stunning.

If it works, it is "acceptable". I doubt that the installer can make it any better looking. The boiler seems to be plumb and level on the wall though.
  • RobG
    RobG Member Posts: 1,850
    edited June 2014
    Wow!!!