Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

DOLE Flow Control Steam Vent Model 20(?) (stainless)

Options
JuneNJ1
JuneNJ1 Member Posts: 5
Hello everyone,

Newbie here ...

I am sorry to bother you, but I have a question: I've had problems

(leaks) with my heating pipes (steam / radiator heat) this year and

have had to replace several pipes (old ones are over 50 yrs old).

Yesterday (Sunday), the air ventilator at the top of the vertical return pipe had

to be replaced because it was spitting water out and I had a pool of water on

the basement floor.. Apparently there was a tiny leak in the casing? I don't know

for sure. My heating/plumbing company charged me $97 for the replacement,

and service guy said I was getting a bargain because it should cost $400, so

I looked stuff up online. I have a service contract so there was no labor charge.

The service guy was very nice; all their service guys are great.

The 'broken' one is brass-color Gorton Air Eliminator Main Vent  #1 - which I

found on eBay for under $20. I'm attaching a stock photo of the GORTON.

The stainless steel replacement says DOLE Flow Control Steam Vent Model

20? I couldn't quite make out the model number, so not 100% sure about the 20).

Also attaching a stock image of something resembling the DOLE (stainless).

I couldn't find one onine that looks exactly like the DOLE. It's round, not cylindrical.

I think it has some Patent #s on it but I was too tired last night to try to read them.

The vent / valve face with the info on it is facing away from where I can read it

properly.

I can't challenge their $97 charge w/o info. I know they have to make a profit; I know

there's always some mark-up. But $97 for a $20 part? As I said,  I have a service

contract, so there was no labor charge. Just $97 for a valve.