Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Taco I series Mixing valves?

Options
Is it possible to use two Taco bumblee (primary&secondary) pumps and a Taco I series mixing valve with the 3 sensors to control my heating system? I am using manifolds out to Myson radiators with TRV's, so I will have heat control at the radiators. I am trying to build a very simple but effecient system. What would kick the boiler on with this setup? The I series have a set points for high and low water temps and outdoor reset so if it gets cold outside it should start injecting hotter water into the seconday system and with the TRV's in each room I should be able to adjust room temp and the ecm pumps should kick on and off automaticlly I would think?

Sorry for my ignorance I am a mechanic by trade, but doing a design build on a house with my contractor buddy. We are hiring his go to plumber to install the system, but the guy is old school and if I let him have at it would probally be all zoned with 10 pumps and I would pay 50 bucks a month in electricity to run the system. I am wanting to do a modern simple system that he can understand therefore install. He is selling me new lochinvar boiler he has layin around for cheap and I plan on installing a gasification wood boiler before next heating season.

Comments

• Dave H_2
    Dave H_2 Member Posts: 555
    Options
    pumps and i-Valves

Drew,

Take a look here http://www.taco-hvac.com/uploads/FileLibrary/102-145.pdf for the i-valve instructions.

In particular take a look on page 2 the graphic labeled "3-way iseries valves". This gives you the best description for what you are looking to do.