Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New to the trade

Probie
Probie Member Posts: 7
Hi I'm currently new to the HVACR trade. I have been an apprentice for about 2 months now and i was doing a routine on two oil burners today and noticed they both had 2 expansion tanks and was wondering why a system would have 2 expansion tanks instead of one?

Comments

• SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Was there a tankless coil or an indirect water heater?

That would (in many cases, and certain jurisdictions regardless) explain the second expansion tank.
  • Weezbo
    Weezbo Member Posts: 6,232
    edited December 2013
    this is interesting ...

do you recall how these tanks were arranged and piped ?

i can see some probability in Swei's reply yet i also am interested in what you encountered ....what were the boilers pressure readings ?

were the tanks different colours one white on grey for an example?

or were they on a common headder ?

if they were on a common headder were they side by side as it were in like Twined?

twined tanks though fairly uncommon has some redundancy type factor ...

a few well, almost a decade back i recall some really large tanks that were twin tanks that were used in a process of drawing larger quantities of different temp water from different levels of a lake all lashed up to like a university town ,

and in the past i have seen this done although in the last 20 years or so not so much..

• Probie
    Probie Member Posts: 7
    The Expansion tanks