Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Overhead Return

Options
I am having a problem with a unit heater at the end of a steam run. There is a T in the steam supply line before the heater with one pipe entering the heater and the other joining to a T on the heater outlet before the trap. Water is collecting in the pipe before the trap and causing no heat throughout the heater (I guess). Any suggestions. I'm fairly new to the steam game.

Comments

• JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    Options
    Unit heater

No pressure differene = No steam movement.

Right now, the supply and return of the unit heater are equalized. Steam will not move through it. You need a trap on the supply drip that ties into the return AFTER the unit heater trap. You will also need to install a main vent on the top inlet of the F&T trap for the unit heater, and install it on a piece of pipe that is about 12" high.
  • JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    Options
    PS

Also...

The strainer is supposed to be on the inlet of the trap. And you need to install check valve on the outlet of the trap, if the condensate is going to be lifted to a return.
  • Dave in QCA
    Dave in QCA Member Posts: 1,785
    Options
    won't work that way

The way it is piped will not work at all. How long has the heater been in this location? Is it something that has been added in? What pressure does the system operate at? Is steam pressure maintained all of the time? On the outlet of the trap, it appears to go upward. How far does it go up? Which way does the steam main pitch. Is it coming down hill as it approaches the end of the line? Am I correct in assuming this is a 2-pipe system, that is, the radiators have two pipes, one for steam coming in and one for air and condensate going out?