Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Threaded connections

HOJplumber
HOJplumber Member Posts: 1
I work as a building plumber for The City and County of San Francisco. The Stationary (boiler) Engineers I answer to often have me impersonate a steamfitter (usually to replace valves) and work on steam and hydronic heating lines in the building. For copper tube lines I braze ("silver/hard solder") the connections, but for the threaded connections I use the same Blue Magic or Rectorseal brand pipe dope and teflon tape that I use for potable water. Before manning the plumbing/piping shop at this bulding by myself, I was part of a crew of plumbers and genuine steamfitters who shared a shop (though we had seperate locker rooms as well as seperate supervisors who each answered to the same stationary engineer). When I called my vendor (who have the word steam in their name) to ask what I should use for high heat threaded connections they just say to use Blue Magic, but I remember that the steamfitters used a different kind of pipe dope that was grey in color, so I suspect that their must be pipe dope and tape that is better for steam and hydronic heating lines. I haven't found any answers in "Modern Hydronic Heating" or in Dan's books so I'm asking you. Please tell me what to use for threaded heating piping and components.

Thanks,

Comments

• JaredM
    JaredM Member Posts: 57
    Pipe Dope for Steam

This subject has been argued by folks for years.  Do some searches on this board and you will find all manners of opinions.

For steam and water I use single strand wicking and a good quality pipe thread compound.  I usually grab some flavor of teflon based pipe thread compound. 
  • RJ_4
    RJ_4 Member Posts: 484
    pipe dope