Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

flux problems

Options
george_42
george_42 Member Posts: 121
I have been using Laco flux for 50 years ,but lately when soldering pex adapters to copper ,I have been getting leaks. I just found out at the supply house that the pex adapters are made from lead free brass and Laco flux will not work with lead free fittings . Many new brass fittings and valves are now using lead free thanks to our GOVT so be aware . Other fluxes are available for use with lead free, GEORGE

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Options
    Life in flux:

I've used the Crest soldering paste for almost as long as you have been using La-C0 paste. You must be older than I. I started on Nokorode. . I've never seen a problem.

I find the biggest problems occur when I use my LP TurboBlow Torch, I get leaks because I can easily over heat the part of the fittings that I can put the flame on and under heat the back or place I can't directly heat. I always wipe the goobers and paste off the fittings. I can also tell when I wipe if the fitting was hot enough. When overheated with the TurboBlow Torch, I can't always tell. I only use my portable turbo blowtorch for long crawls, thawing pipes or annealing tubing. I use my Prestolite #3 tip and "B" tank only. With a small (liked a #3) hot tip, I avoid burning the wood and get the fitting hot. I also have a Turboblow torch tip for my acetylene hose for those special heat-up jobs. I haven't used it in years. I can't remember the last time I used it.

I find that the Turboblow LP hand torches have a tendency to overheat and burn out the paste before the solder flows. Especially with the oil free water paste.
  • bob eck
    bob eck Member Posts: 930
    Options
    Soldering lead free brass fittings

I hope this helps you out.