Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Tired of Quietside break down.

Options
Hi,

My plumber installed a Quietside DPW-120 for the heating of the radiant floor and the domestic hot water of my bachelor( surface 1200 sq. feet) in 2009. What a nightmare. The boiler broke down at least 50 times...( Code A3 and A6). I want this scrap thrown away and he suggest me to install an electric boiler Thermolec 10 KW  and a Thermo 2000 TurboMax as water heater. Is this a performing proposition ?

What is the best electric boiler (life lasting and easy maintenance) between Thermo 2000 BTH Ultra, Slant-Fin Monitron, Hydra and Thermolec. I am a novice and i need advice to make a good choice.

Thank you guys.

Richard

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,433
    Options
    seems odd....

to ditch the gas. I would look into a good combi gas unit w/ a proved track record. Triangle tube prestige Excellence, Smith GC160/ Embassy Onex, Bosch Greenstar combi100... make sure whoever installs it has training on that unit.
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    Options
    Why going to electric?

Just wondering if you have thought about how much an electric boiler would cost to operate verses the old gas one.

120000btu sounds big for 1200 sf even with DHW.
  • Gordan
    Gordan Member Posts: 891
    Options
    That may not be a match made in heaven