Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with a submersible well head that broke

GW
GW Member Posts: 4,796
I did a lot of heating work for this good customer recently, and they asked me if i could help with this busted well head, can anyone identify it? You can see i went over with a new one (the blue one), but it wasn't the same,

If i can't find the exact cover, and i need to replace the entire head, is that a pain?

I'm a plumber too, MA ,aster 10839 in case that needs to be disclosed.
Gary Wilson
Wilson Services, Inc
Northampton, MA
gary@wilsonph.com

Comments

• MikeG
    MikeG Member Posts: 169
    Well cap

GW

Is that a two piece with a bolted cover?  I've seen different kinds.  The simplest is just a cap that is held on with some set screws.  It has the conduit hub for the pump wwire.  Others are two piece, the base piece has a clamping system which grips the well casing and then the cap is bolted on to the flange.  I have also seen some where the well installer welded the bottom flange piece on, or it was threaded on to the top oif the well casing.  Worst case you may have to undo the wire splice, which should be under the cap to remove the parts.  The simple caps don't require that.  There are all kinds and sizes of well casings installed.  Some caps fit a range.  Around here they drill 4", 4 1/2", 6"  etc.  Different wall thickness, steel, PVC.  If you can get the old stuff off and find one that fits the OD not much of a problem.   Mike
  • GW
    thanks

Thanks Mike, I don't know anything about wells. So, all wells would have a wire splice just inside the casing? All the water connections are a few feet down?

And, if the diameter is the same, it should not be a huge deal to change the entire cap?

Gary
    Gary Wilson
    Wilson Services, Inc
    Northampton, MA
    gary@wilsonph.com
  • MikeG