Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Trouble in Glencoe

Options
Pumpguy
Pumpguy Member Posts: 655
I have a customer with a 1930's vintage Duplex Nash Jennings Vacuum Heating Pump in their home. I have been servicing these pumps for abut 8 years now and the pumps are working just fine, but the customer is having ongoing controls problems.

I should add that this is a 2 pipe system with low returns and an auxiliary accumulator tank. The vacuum pumps discharge condensate to a small boiler feed unit feeding 2 small boilers that were installed just a few years ago.

The basic problem is the customer is frustrated because the controls are not operating the system properly. Most of the time the house is too cold, but there are times when it's too hot. I should add that supplemental electric heating is installed, but it's not enough to solve the problem.

There is an aquastat clamped to the return line just upstream of the auxiliary accumulator tank. It is set at 120 degrees. it's purpose is to prevent the vacuum pumps from running on demand of the vacuum switch when heating is not needed. Below 120 degrees, the circuit to the vacuum switch is open, and the vacuum pump operates on float only. I have

installed an aquastat override timer switch to bypass the aquastat to allow the customer to get vacuum on the system when it's cold.

The customer is frustrated with the un-even heating and also the need to manually operate the pump's switches to get it to operate. I have suggested that this aquastat be replaced with an outdoor temperature sensing device that would complete the pump's vacuum switch circuit at maybe 40-45 degrees. This has not been done.