Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Question about Mod/cons on old gravity systems

steve_25
steve_25 Member Posts: 36
Hello everyone. I am a plumber in northern New Jersey. Sandy has flooded my basement and I need to replace the boiler ASAP. It's a cast iron boiler on an old gravity system with a B&G 100 on the return and it's all one zone. I was planning on updating the whole system in the spring with a modcon, separate zones and primary secondary piping. So now that I have to change the boiler immediately here's my question. If I were to just replace the old cast iron boiler with a modcon using the same supply and return pipes and a new B&G 100 would the system work for now? I am willing to sacrifice efficiency for safety until I can update the rest of the system. My current boiler sits in the middle of my basement and feeds 2" horizontal runouts that feed 1 1/4" risers at the front and back end of my house. Each set of risers supplies one large cast iron radiator per floor. It's a rowhouse with three floors for a total of 6 radiators. Any advice you could give would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Al

Comments

• Rich_L
    Rich_L Member Posts: 81
    Mod-con efficiency