Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Mixing Hoffman and Gorton's

Options
mgmine
mgmine Member Posts: 58
I have been following the thread

Can there ever be too much Main Venting

And have a similar problem. I just installed 2 Gorton #2 vents on one main and 1 Gorton #2 plus 1 Hoffman #75 on the other main. Both mains are about the same length and same pipe size however the one with the 2 Gorton's heat up quicker. Is there a problem mixing a Hoffman and a Gorton?

Comments

• Mark_125
    Mark_125 Member Posts: 56
    edited November 2012
    Options
    I'm no expert...

...but I think its more likely that the difference in the venting capacity of the Gorton #2 vs the Hoffman #75 is the reason for your imbalance. I believe the Gorton has way more venting capacity than the Hoffman. If your mains are almost identical in size then they will need identical venting to evenly balance.

I have two mains similar in size and due to height restrictions use 2 Gorton #1s and a Hoffman #75 on each.
  • Patrick_North
    Patrick_North Member Posts: 249
    Options
    Mark is right.

That Gorton vents at more than twice the speed of the Hoffman. If the mains are similar, put one of each vent type on each main. Not a problem to "mix and match." In fact, the somewhat different properties of these vents make for a good pair- you get quick venting, but also a vent that is quick to reopen as main temperature dips back down. Nice, even venitng.

Good luck,

Patrick
  • Rod
    Rod Posts: 2,067
    Options
    Main Vent Mix