Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Burnham Gas Boiler

i am a newbie here so forgive my ignorance...we have a Burnham Gas Steam boiler that has been acting strange...whenever it starts a cycle to heat it constantly fires up as if its lighting up and keeps doing this over and over...it seems to provide heat but it keeps firing off...seems to do this until heats to desired range then stops..

But when it kicks on again it goes thru same thing?? I hope i described this correctly and someone could enlighten me as to what to describe to Heat guy so that the correct issue is repaired.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    edited October 2012
    could be a few things

Does it fire up and run for xx minutes only to stop and then fire up again, repeating the cycle till the house is warm?  Does the pressure gauge read anything just before it turns off?

This tells me the high limit pressure sensor is being tripped and the boiler stops firing till the pressure drops below the low limit to refire. This could be a problem with the pigtail under the pressuretrol (senses pressure inside the boiler).

Does the boiler light and then almost immediately stop, only to relight again and repeat the cycle till the house warms up?

This may be is an ignition problem but usually the boiler will lock out after a couple of tries at starting.

Is the water in the sight glass dropping in level just before the boiler shuts off?

This may indicate a plug in the return piping of the boiler. the boiler makes steam and that steam condenses and has to return to the boiler. If the return is partially blocked the water is slow to return and that triggers the low water cutoff which shuts the boiler down till enough water returns. there may be a LED that lights on the low water cuttoff indicating a low water condition.