Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Geothermal air in line science question

aconred
aconred Member Posts: 1
<span style="font-size:12pt">Trying to learn some science to understand, goggled and did not find ran across this site an thought **** I’ll ask and see if anyone has insight can’t hurt. The basics of the question are how does air get into your geothermal loop without a leak? I’m assuming it has something to do with the chemical makeup of the loop liquid i.e. some of the H2O is broken down and got some O in the line. I am a general contractor. I am early riser when I get up all is real quite about a year ago when all was real quite I was hearing what sounded like a faint heartbeat slowly got louder. It’s been slow getting louder. I investigated and found it was my loop making a small noise, but only done it with the upstairs unit. My loop downstairs is exposed, I could hold my hand on the line to the upstairs and it pulsed with the noise, downstairs had no problem. Called geo installer what he said made sense, even though he did not know the science. Said I had air in my line my problems up high is why you don’t have the problem down low. OK how do I fix? Do I have you come more juice in it. He said no you can do it; turn off both systems hook a garden hose to the loop and to your domestic water. Turn it on make sure all is tight no water leaking from hose etc. then after pressurized open the loop valve and let it stay on for 10 – 15 minutes then reverse procedure then I asked the questions, WATER will it not freeze he said no you have plenty of stuff in there to keep from freezing your only talking a small amount of water probably less than a cup full. OK second question if I got air do I have a leak, he said no it just develops, said why he did not know. So I am here. </span>