Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

leaking nipple at the boiler inlet return

Options
bigdave
bigdave Member Posts: 1
i am a handyman and have done a lot of work with black pipe. I currently have a leaky stub right at the boiler inlet return and some corrosion at that fitting also. I am reluctant to attempt this job because I do not have experience with this type of removal and frankly I am afraid I could crack the boiler section. Should I call a professional in for this job or make an attempt first?

Comments

• Charlie from wmass
    Charlie from wmass Member Posts: 4,322
    Options
    I say call a pro, then again I am a pro.

Do you have a photo? Your idea of a little corrosion may be different then mine. Also how old is the boiler?
    Cost is what you spend , value is what you get.

cell # 413-841-6726
    https://heatinghelp.com/find-a-contractor/detail/charles-garrity-plumbing-and-heating
  • nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    Options
    Dare to repair?

It's hard to say whether you should do this yourself; however I can describe the steps the pro would take.