Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Airconditiong when you have hydronic heat

Options
GordoG
GordoG Member Posts: 15
What is the most popular or common method of air conditioning for houses that have hot water heat? Thanks

Comments

• SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    edited July 2012
    Options
    popular and common

are not adjectives which inspire confidence in me, given the deficiencies in both comfort and value I see in so many buildings.

[/snark off]

Out here in our little corner of the southwest, we like to pair radiant heat with evaporative cooling when we can.  Radiant cooling is tout sweet, but I'm still learning.  Mini-splits are perfect for high loads in tight spots.
  • Robert O'Brien
    Robert O'Brien Member Posts: 3,541
    Options
    Long Island

Airhandler in the attic here by far,hydroair is huge with most newer residential.
    To learn more about this professional, click here to visit their ad in Find A Contractor.
  • Yes, we (the USA) still are in the dark ages......

and putting in ducted A/C systems.  I recommedd ductless split systems.  Here in Chicago contractors say that they don't work,  et el. , especially for the chruches I've talked to.  From what I understand, all of Asia cools this way. 

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• SWEI
    Options
    all of Asia

indeed.  It's not uncommon to see literally hundreds of little outside coils on mid-rise offices and apartments in major cities.
  • gennady
    gennady Member Posts: 839
    Options
    AC with radiant