Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Is it possible to Introduce a 2-Pipe Radiator into a 1-Pipe System?

The system is an original 1-pipe.

All of my radiators are 1-pipe.

The radiator in question (a "Bundy Columbia"?) has the two (supply and return?) trappings on one side at the bottom, and a space for a vent on the other end about 1/3 of the way down from the top of the radiator.

It is a nice radiator, but not sure if it is worth what is needed to change any piping or do any conversions to the radiator itself.

I am new to steam and so I thank you all in advance for your  help,

Brian

Comments

• gerry gill
    gerry gill Member Posts: 3,078
    In a word -yes,

however you are in for some piping work in order to accomplish it.
    gwgillplumbingandheating.com
    Serving Cleveland's eastern suburbs from Cleveland Heights down to Cuyahoga Falls.

• SewardWasRight
    SewardWasRight Member Posts: 12
    Piping - as in changing the current valve or hooking 2-pipe pipes up to it?

Would this involve anything other than a set of pipes coming out of the radiator and joining at a common spot before going into the currently insstalled valve? Is there any documentation on this that I could follow?

Also, can the radiator be converted to one pipe by closing one of the trappings and piping the radiator with one pipe?

Thanks again,

Brian
  • gerry gill
    No, it wouldn't be that easy,

the outlet (return) would need to duck down under the floor most likely and then come back up in order to make a water seal..and then tie into the piping. I dont think you could plug one side and pipe it one pipe unless the tappings are large..what size are they?
    Serving Cleveland's eastern suburbs from Cleveland Heights down to Cuyahoga Falls.

• SewardWasRight
    SewardWasRight Member Posts: 12