Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Non-Softening Scale Control Devices

SWEI
SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
For those of us who live and work in regions with hard water, scale is a constant issue which affects nearly all heating and plumbing systems.  At least we don't have to deal with intense corrosion issues.

Nugs pointed at Steve Lower's excellent site <a href="http://www.chem1.com/CQ/aquacrack.html">http://www.chem1.com/CQ/aquacrack.html</a> which exposes some truly out there claims, but the scale control question is a bit less clear-cut to some of us.

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,852
    My 0.02 worth...

Moved from the Legionella Thread.

I have been using them here in Colorado for around 35 years, and have seen them de-lime systems that I didn't think were de-limeable. I have deployed them all across this fine country of ours. Granted, my experience is "anecdotal", but in my opinion, it is valid and proven.

If it were really hocus pocus, do you believe that numerous companies could support thousands of people selling junk science since 1964 ? (Superior Water Conditioner Company, and Field Controls Corp)

I agree that none of them has any scientific basis to their claims, but science don't mean squat to the actual findings in the field. I will admit, that I would NOT recommend them for use in critical operations (steam power plants or the like) but I have many years of positive experience, personally as well as corporately confirming results.

Numerous other respected Wallies have contacted me off line, and confirmed that they too have seen positive results in more areas than just lime scale avoidance.

I've read Russian reports, American reports, and a report done by the Haifa Institute in Israel that related to agriculture usage, and they too saw some fantastic results.