Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

heat pump vs. warm air furnace

I am a heating contractor who mainly deals with steam & hydronic boilers. From what I know about warm air furnaces is they make the rooms very dry and the house cools down quickly when the unit shuts off? Does this also hold try for heat pump heating systems?

Comments

• meplumber
    meplumber Member Posts: 678
    As usual, that depends....

Old style on/off furnaces and heat pumps did perform as you describe. However, there are units on the market now that are fully modulating and condensing. We are now using multi-speed fans and zoning controls to dramatically increase comfort.

I prefer the use of dual fuel systems for some buildings over traditional hydronics, even though I am a wet-head.

In ME, we have some of the highest electric rates in the country. But with a properly sized and installed dual fuel furnace we have seen some good things. Basically, the reversed cycle heat pump is utilized down to a set outside temperature and then the gas burner takes over. Nice systems.

Good Luck.
  • don_9
    don_9 Member Posts: 395
    Envelope issue

Along with leaky air ducts are the reason for house being dry.Think about it for a second  when air is heated it expands causing the number of grains of water vapor to occupy a larger volume of air.Really matter not what type of heat plant that is being used however wetheat is alittle more forgiven only bc........ 
  • Tom Blackwell_2
    Tom Blackwell_2 Member Posts: 126
    envelope 2

As previously mentioned, the cause of dry air on forced air systems is because of the increased infiltration that is caused by the pressure differentials created by moving the air.