Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

65 Unit Apartment / Condo Buidling Heating Repl Options

Options
andrewd33
andrewd33 Member Posts: 12
I am on the board of directors of this builidng I own a unit in.  I don't live there anymore, but we are in the process of considering a replacement of our oil fired boiler.  All of the members on the board look to me because I am an HVAC person.  I explained that although I am familiar with the system in the building that I am not a hydronics expert.  I do know that what the board has gotten as advice from their heating experts doesn't sound like the best advice. So maybe you guys can make some recommendations to us.

65 Unit apartment building mixed, studios and one bedroom apartments built in 1951.  Converted to condos in 1980s.  Has one beasty Weil McClain boiler circa early 1980s that services the hydronic loop.  Also we just replaced our Lochinvar Gas Hot water maker (not the tank)  with a New lochinvar.  The old one lasted 13 years. 

We have gas in the building so I can't figure why we haven't switched since oil is 3.50 and up / gallon and gas is only $1 per therm in our area now. 

Recommended to the board was a dual fuel burner, oil / gas tied into the loop.I thnk that the better option would be to do those cascade type systems with multiple Triangle Tube or Munchkin boilers.

Serious problems with overheating and underheating in the building.  Most convectors valves do not work.  The convectors are Universal slab coil mounted in a cabinet with grille on front top and bottom. 

Old heat timer is the control.  Only other local control is the windows!!!