Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Thinking about buying a used boiler.

Options
Hello all, This is my first time posting anything here but I have read a lot of useful threads here so I thought I would post a question. We just bought our first house a couple years ago. The house has a single pipe steam set up for central heating. It is an old, old, old Weil Mclain coal stoker retrofitted with an oil burner. I have done everything I can think of to eke out more efficiency from this thing but I think it is a lost cause. I have done a boat load of research on steam over the last year and understand the importance of the near boiler piping. Let's just say that the near boiler piping on our boiler is a total disaster. We have interviewed plumbers who all want to change us over to forced hot water for a hefty price tag. I interviewd one plumber who was willing to change out the boiler with a new steam boiler but I quickly realized that he hadn't done his homework as far as near boiler piping practices. He wanted to set me up with a welded header and had never even heard of a dop header. I let him go. we don't have a lot of money to work with but I really want to upgrade to something relatively newer. So I found a guy is redoing his central heating system and is selling a 6 year old peerless boiler sized perfectly for our system for short money. The best part is that the it appears that the pipe fitting was done by a real pro. I want to use a chain cutter and cut his system at the horizontal mains and attach it to my system with nipples and unions. Is there any room for optimism in this plan or am I nuts? Here's a pic. Thanks

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,578
    Options
    peerless transplant