Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Munchkin Leak

Options
This is on an 8 year old Munchkin 140M that I've been servicing for a few years now where condensate leaks out of the base of the boiler and no condensate flows through the condensate trap.  The boiler is up on a small platform and I can see the water coming out of a hole in the molded plastic base of the unit, dripping down onto the rubber trap and then onto the metal stand where it accumulates and eventually drips onto the floor making a big mess.

I thought there might be some kind of internal overflow as on an a/c unit, so I cleaned out the trap, drain and neutralizer, but it was all clear and continued to leak after I put it back together.  I called HTP and they said there might be a leak where the trap attaches to the drain, but the trap disappears into the base before I see any point of attachment.

I'm thinking that I will have to disconnect the entire unit to see what's going on, but I've never removed the heat exchanger from the molded plastic enclosure.  Since no condensate is reaching the trap, could it be that it's leaking through a new hole in the bottom of the combustion chamber?  Can the heat exchanger be easily removed to inspect the combustion chamber?  Any other ideas or experiences?
8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab

Comments

• Slimpickins
    Slimpickins Member Posts: 341
    Options
    had same issue