Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Tablet use?

AFred
AFred Member Posts: 81
Hey guys, just wondering if anyone out there is useing a tablet in the field?

I got one for Christmas. Want to know what to do with it. I am an installer/service tech.

What do you guys use them for? Another tech I work with can invoice via email, and take CC info on the spot. I want to know if there are any apps I could use. I would like to keep detailed info of the equipment I service, I document lots of stuff on my service tickets but that info never finds its way into the computer at the shop, I would like to at least keep MN and SN on file.

-Andrew

Comments

• CMadatMe
    CMadatMe Member Posts: 3,086
    Apps

Taco and US boiler have Apps. I also use Res Heat loads and the most important app I have is log me in which will allow you to access your office computer from the field. I also built libraries in IBooks by mfg and subject matters. All the info I need in one touch. The abilities are endless.
    "The bitter taste of a poor installation remains much longer than the sweet taste of the lowest price."
  • Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    iPad or tablet?

I got the shock of my life when I showed up (by invitation) at my former employers Christmas Party. I was actually the guest of honor, and they gave me an Apple iPad. I was honored, and am still recovering from the shock. Seems they'd had the best year in their existence, and it was due to all the foot work I had put together during my tenure there.

I promised my former partner I'd figure out how he and his employees could use this "tool" in their day to day practices, so I am also interested in learning more about its use.