Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Buffer tank ,Mod Con, how to?

Options
13»

Comments

• Ronbo
    Ronbo Member Posts: 33
    Options
    im no pro but

i would think the hot water heater should stay on priority 1 by itself.

what temps are you running?
  • mage182
    mage182 Member Posts: 3
    Options
    Heating Temps

The heating zones are on an outdoor reset. Min temp 120, max temp 160. Usually it sits around 130-135.

The IHW tank runs at 170.

If everything is piped to be equal, and the larger the load the better, then isn't it a good idea to remove the priority? I haven't had a problem with hot water so far since we only have 1 bathroom right now.
  • NRT_Rob
    NRT_Rob Member Posts: 1,013
    Options
    you could argue that either way

but I would stick with priority. You have a reset curve because you want one, presumably, so defeating it on a DHW call isn't ultimately that great of an idea.
    Rob Brown
    Designer for Rockport Mechanical
    in beautiful Rockport Maine.
  • scott markle_2
    scott markle_2 Member Posts: 611
    Options
    Series loop?

Ronbo,

I want to help but it's hard to understand what your saying sometimes.

If you think you can turn all of your zones into a big series loop, then this forum is doing you a big disservice, you may get a fantastic delta, but unless you have a really big pump your flow is going to be pathetic. Even if creating a giant loop didn't wreak havoc with distribution (it will), it's not going to transfer any more energy piped that way.

Is the wall is getting soft?