Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wilo Stratus with TRVs

Harvey Ramer
Harvey Ramer Member Posts: 2,239
Will the Wilo Stratus or the Grundfas Alpha work in a radiant system with every zone controlled by a Thermostatic Radiator Valve? What happens whe every zone closes and the pump is deadheaded?

If this does not work would it be a good idea to run your piping as though you were putting a differential bypass in, but instead of the differential bypass, install a normally closed TRV with a remote sensor set at 65 degrees, somewhere in the center of the house?

I am not very good at writing. My paragraphs typicaly consist of 1 sentence. Hope you all can make cents of it.

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    WILO Stratus & TRV's:

The Stratus if it is the variable speed pump, will slow down to almost nothing when confronted with your situation. I saw this in a demonstration at a WILO Eat and Peek at the supply house. I replaced my Taco 007 with one that runs 6 Taco 571 zone valves. It works well, No problems. But the pump will stop as the zone valves close so it should never be dead headed.

You should have some sort of zone control with a thermostat along with your TRV's I would think. Or, at least the room with the thermostat should be set lower than all the other rooms with the TRV's.

IMO.
  • Simply Rad
    Simply Rad Member Posts: 184
    the perfect system