Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Best electric HWH?

Options
I'm a novice at electric HWHs so I have to start with the basic question:  What's the best electric HWH for a three bedroom, two bath home?  Most cost effective is another way to define it, I suppose.

With Gratitude and Respect, Peters

Comments

• Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited December 2011
    Options
    Type WH

Storage type. instantaneous, Solar tank with electric backup? Sounds like a good incorporation to your passive home, if that is what its for.

The question needs to be answered how many users Family of 4 any large spa tubs, Over zealous shower heads. etc
  • Hudsonvalleycarpenter
    Options
    Duplex rental

I'm going to build a 3BR/2B duplex rental. The master baths will have spa tubs.  Just looking for the most reliable electric HWH in the most appropriate size.  Best energy rating would help too.

Thanks, Peter
  • Larry Weingarten
    Larry Weingarten Member Posts: 3,305
    Options
    Its the tubs!

Hello:  The tubs throw things off.  I'd be tempted to have tankless heaters for the tubs alone and the rest on a fifty gallon electric... or a bigger gallonage heat pump unit.  My mind is of two minds about what should supply the showers!

Yours,  Larry
  • Hudsonvalleycarpenter
    Options
    as Santa often sez....it's a tankless job.

The only problem I can see with going tankless, from my limited knowledge, is that such electric HW sources don't put out enough volume to do the job in a timely fashion.  Please correct me if I'm wrong.  I'm here to learn.

Peter
  • kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,432
    Options
    I think the....

Vaughn Hotstow/ Sepco electrics are great. Longevity needs no anode.... Stone lining holds heat great. Downside is they are heavy...very heavy. Competitive price. Made in Massachusetts.