Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Electric Boiler

Options
OhioRuss
OhioRuss Member Posts: 29
I'm starting from scratch in a 140 year old brick house. I'm interested in using old cast iron radiators with an electric boiler such as Burnham or Electro. The tradesmen in the area say I want to stay away from an electric boiler, but they can't give me a reason. My dad, a 40 year electrician, can't give me a reason other than just don't. The options are LP, Fuel Oil or Electric. Electric is about 9.1 cents per kilowatt. Can someone explain the bad rap with electric boilers? I really like their simplicity so I would like to understand why so many people are saying avoid them.

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Options
    Choice of fuels.

Bear i mind that I am not a heating professional.

It seems to me the choice of fuel (and electricity counts as a fuel in this context) depends on many different issues, most of them economic, but some may be ethical.

The bad rap I perceive electricity has is due, I think, to the fact that it costs more per BTU than the other fuels. The incrimental cost, that is. I imagine, without evidence, that an electric boiler has a lower first cost than the others because it is relatively simpler than any of the others. Its maintenance would be less, because no combustion, so no combustion controls needing adjustment and cleaning. Depending where you live, the cost may be lower than some others (areas where the electricity is heavily subsidized, such as by the TVA.