Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hot water boiler sizing question.

I am a heating contractor in central Pa.  I am looking at a hot water boiler replacement in an old farm house.  The building is about 1400 square foot with blow wall and attic insulation.  It has a significant glass load. The heat loss calculation I did indicates a heat loss of 42,500 btus per hour. The connected radiation is standing cast iorn in all rooms but the kitchen, which is zoned seperate with a run of copper fin baseboard.

The conntected radiation is rated at 92,000 btu's.

Does one size the boiler to the connected radiation or to the heat loss calculation?

Thanks

Threadcutter

There was an error rendering this rich post.

Comments

• KBP&H_3
    KBP&H_3 Member Posts: 67
    The building> The older people

I recently  talked to a boiler manufacturer tech gut about this and he said to go by the heat loss, my situtation was 75000 connected load and about a 50,000 heat loss.   so I downsized one size,, only to find out the homeowner keeps it 76-78 degrees in the house, back up one size,,,, 

I have recently ran across a few jobs where it is kept above 75* in the house> 7* - 10* more than usual, same as going 10* colder for design.
  • TonyS
    TonyS Member Posts: 849
    Size your boiler to

your heat load then, im assuming you rated the baseboard at 180 or 170...then lower your high limit to the temperature that is needed to get your heat loss from that amount of radiation. If the boiler is condensing you can just keep dropping but if not you should keep at least 140 minimum.
  • lchmb
    lchmb Member Posts: 2,997
    just to ask

This isnt steam with a hot water zone on it is it?
  • KBP&H_3
    KBP&H_3 Member Posts: 67
    Many central pa boiler companies