Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Weil McClain conversion

Options
Hi,

First I am new to the wall and I have not bought any books yet although I intend to after bouncing around and reading a few threads here. So bear with my ignorance/misuse of proper terminology. I have a 3 family home originally built in 1880 in New Jersey. I do not live in the home. I had a Weil McClain boiler put in around 10 years ago with a new tank also. I have be getting slaughtered in heating cost over the past few years and I am looking to convert over to Natural Gas. There is natural gas existing in the mechanical room. The model is an A/B SGO-6(W) I spoke with Carlin a few weeks back and they said they have a burner (correct term?) that will bolt right up to my boiler. I have a plumber who did a conversion for my father last year and I think I am comfortable with him doing the conversion. My questions (to start) are do you guys like Carlin, Riello, or Wayne Home Equipment? Weil McClain said they have no problem with me having another burner installed and told me to contact Wayne for product. I will get some pictures posted also so you can maybe critique the overall installation as well, but it looks pretty tight. I have NO insulation on the pipes currently as all the original asbestos insulation was abated years ago and never replaced...That will be my fall project, getting the pipes insulated which I am sure will help. Also,Due to the age of the house I am sure that at one point coal was used as a heat source. If this was the case, am I probably looking at a chimney liner or no?

Comments

• crash2009
    crash2009 Member Posts: 1,484
    Options
    Hi Nick,