Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Burnham Alpine Air Proving Problem

Ski
Ski Member Posts: 1
I converted my farmhouse over to gas 1 1/2 ago.  While doing so, I bought a Burnham Alpine 150,000 BTUH Modulating boiler.  I have had issues with the unit running on sealed combustion.  The first time it happened was during the winter when I got a no heat call (0 degrees out).  My installing contractor came over and we were getting a (5- no air alarm) with the cover on.  When we took the cover off, it started working and heat up the house.  I assumed that some ice might have built up in the side wall PVC intake.  After a few days, I put the cover on and it was fine.  Today we didn't have any hot water ( secondary loop feeds a superstor 50 gallon tank).  When I looked at it, the controller told me that there was a "power failure after lockout".  I hit the reset and the unit ran, but was not really heating the water properly.  Again, I took the front cover off and everything seemed to work right.

Do you think that there is an issue with the controller or could there actually be a problem with the air intake piping? This boiler was expensive and I have already had issues with it heating as well as making hot water in less than 2 years.  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Ski

Comments

• NYplumber
    NYplumber Member Posts: 503
    clear

I am unfamiliar with the Burnham Alpine, yet first verify that the air passage is clear. Either have it inspected with a sewer camera, or another means of inspection.
    :NYplumber:
  • NYplumber
    NYplumber Member Posts: 503
    clear

I am unfamiliar with the Burnham Alpine, yet first verify that the air passage is clear. Either have it inspected with a sewer camera, or another means of inspection.
    :NYplumber:
  • lchmb
    lchmb Member Posts: 2,997
    curious