Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Insulate for snowmelt or not?

Options
Hello, I'm a hydronic radiant heating contractor and a firm believer in underslab insulation. But I've been re-thinking insulation under snowmelt. Mark Eathertons article in Contractor magazine talked about measuring an insulated slab with an IR thermometer. The ground temp was 34, and the slab was only 25 degrees, due to being un-coupled from the earth, and night sky re-radiation.  I'm thinking that snowmelt may be a little different than say heating a basement or slab home, and that it could be an advantage to have the slab in contact with the earth.  I understand heat goes down as well as up and sideways. I understand insulation saves fuel cost etc.... but since we're only running the system occasionally, and since we're only needing a temp slightly above melting point, wouldn't being thermally coupled to the ground be an advantage more times than it would be a disadvantage? I think the complete answer could depend on your area of the country, ambient temps, and days of precipitation. What do you think? Kevin

Comments

• Paul Rohrs_14
    Paul Rohrs_14 Member Posts: 80
    Options
    I think......

I think the Huskers have an excellent chance at dominating the Big 10 this year!

Hey old friend.  Got to remember those cold Nebraska winters and how much NG it takes to bring a cold slab up to temp in the winter.   I think your idea is plausible but the response time and expections might be grounds for litigation.

Get an understanding from your end-user as to what kind of recovery they want/expect from the snowmelt.

Let me know if I can help further but I am a huge proponent of using insulation in all snowmelt projects.

Paul
  • Kevin O. Pulver_2
    Kevin O. Pulver_2 Member Posts: 87
    Options
    Hey Paul...

Did you know?... ;-)