Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Burnham Mod-Con

sixoilguy
sixoilguy Member Posts: 7
A long time customer is switching from oil to gas. The local utility is offering them a discount on a Burnham Alpine or Burnham CHG boiler. I have plenty of experience with

Laars, Lochinvar and Weil-Mclain modulating condensing boilers but haven't come across any Burnhams yet. Haven't had any service issues with Burnhams in the past. I was just curious if anyone out there has had any experience or service issues with these particular units.

Comments

• Robert O'Brien
    Robert O'Brien Member Posts: 3,540
    I'll assume you mean Nat Grid?

Alpine is OK,typical Giannoni based  design. The Nat Grid discount is really nothing spectacular unlike the Burnham ES2 discount they offer,that is a good deal! If you want a mod/con spend a few extra bucks and get a Viessmann or  Triangle Tube IMO
    To learn more about this professional, click here to visit their ad in Find A Contractor.
  • sixoilguy
    Burnham

LIPA it is! Alpine and CHG are all they offer over 200,000 BTU. I was looking into a Triangle indirect.
  • Robert O'Brien
    Robert O'Brien Member Posts: 3,540
    200K !

Do a heat loss!  Lots of 200K boilers around,very few 200K houses!
    To learn more about this professional, click here to visit their ad in Find A Contractor.
  • Jason_13
    Jason_13 Member Posts: 304
    Alpine

The Alpine is stainless steel and the CHG is cast aluminum. The most important thing is proper sizing. The CHG comes in two sizes, 150 and 225k. the Alpine ranges from 80k to 800k. The Alpine Sage2 control is far superior than the MCBA on the CHG.
  • sixoilguy
    Burnham