Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Stinky water

I am primarily a solar installer, and have finally run into a true stinky water situation. 

the system has a 75 gal bradford white internal coil tank, double wall HX.   The customer reported stinky water when the system was installed, and he pulled the anode rod and I never heard from him again.  a year later he called with a couple of questions, and I found out that he's had to shock the tank with chlorine tablets a half a dozen times in the year the system has been in.  Primarily after he's been gone for a few days.

the system consistently gets over 140F (today on a cloudy day it's at 130 from yesterday)

does anyone have any suggestions on either an anode rod chemistry that may help this, or any other suggestions, I will appreciate them.

Thanks

Karl

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    Odors.... We don't need no stinkin' odors!!!

FWIW, my system up in the mountains doesn't even have a tank or an anode, and it too stinks. It stunk worse when I did have a tank and anode.

Am going to do a chlorine shock this weekend to put this stuff at bay.

Also, the schmutzy schmell USE to be limited to the DHW side of the system, but since I have replaced all the copper lines with PEX lines, I now have it in both the cold and hot water lines...

Lines use to be copper. Makes one wonder if all this plastic is such a good idea eh....

Here is a link to a Wisconsin DNR document.

http://dnr.wi.gov/org/water/dwg/sulferb.pdf

ME
    It's not so much a case of "You got what you paid for", as it is a matter of "You DIDN'T get what you DIDN'T pay for, and you're NOT going to get what you thought you were in the way of comfort". Borrowed from Heatboy.
  • Karl_Northwind
    Karl_Northwind Member Posts: 139
    stink stank stunk