Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

geothermal with cast iron radiators

yeldarb
yeldarb Member Posts: 8
(searching the wall, most of the discussion on this subject seems to be a few years old... so I'll post my question as follows)

Are there ways to use geothermal with old cast iron radiators?

I live in southeastern PA and have a circa 1888 brick home with cast iron radiators that I don't want to give up (for many reasons, including quality of heat, historical appropriateness, etc). We use an oil-fired Bethlehem Dynatherm boiller installed in 1944 that is also used year-round for hot water - no boilermate etc.) I have been doing lay research on geothermal for several years, but it has seemed that it would not be efficient for use with cast iron radiators. Is this still the case? Please don't just say "no". I'd like to find out if there is ANY kind of system that could be developed, perhaps costing more and providing less efficiency that "typical" geothermal, that would allow me to keep my radiators and still be cheaper to operate than my current (and future) oil bills? I am told that geothermal systems usually max at 130F and cast iron radiators need 180F to be useful. Thats understandable to me, but I'm wondering if there are alternate geothermal systems that use some auxiliary technology to boost to 180F that might still be more efficient than my oil-fired boiler.