Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Information About ideal 2 Redflash Boiler

glife4me
glife4me Member Posts: 3
First off Im new to the forum and to radiant heat. So please bear with me as Im no professional. We recently moved into an old house. Whether we are buying it is still up for debate. This house was built in 1895. And is beautiful. But has a radiator system as its sole source of heat. Upon moving in i was impressed with the heat as it was equal warmth throughout the house except for one upstairs bedroom. Which was later solved by bleeding all the radiators. For a full month of heating the house with thermostat on 68 ( average temperature for the month was 46F) we have received a bill for over 400 dollars. Which strikes me as high. The house has been neglected for a long time. So im wanting to know what all maintenance should be done to the heating system and what could make it more efficient. What needs to be checked and any helpful information overall. I can tell you the obvious things and can provide any more information that i can be told how to find.

Boiler is American Radiator Ideal 2 Redflash Boiler

12 Radiators in the house all american radiators. (all bled 5 turned off)

Stanflame conversion burner ( for running on gas as it used to be oil)

And beyond that im clueless. Any help is appreciated. Thank you. 

Attached is a picture of the boiler

Comments

• Charlie from wmass
    Charlie from wmass Member Posts: 4,318
    Yes I would say that is higher than a properly installed