Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Water Heater Question

Options
Roland_18
Roland_18 Member Posts: 147
HI All,

What are the common causes for water heater leakage? Are gas-fired more or less likely to leak compared to electric ?

Comments

• rlaggren
    rlaggren Member Posts: 160
    Options
    gas HWH leak sooner

Because the flame applied directly to the bottom of the tank causes stresses and the tank leaks sooner. Electrics apply heat into the water with the "element" and the tanks remain mostly unstressed.

Either type will die from the outside if there is a leak above it that drops water onto the tank. This is most commonly a connector joint or a valve. Not too hard to figure out and fix but most of us don't hug our HWH very often...

Cheers, Rufus
    disclaimer - I'm a plumber, not a heating pro.
  • Roland_18
    Roland_18 Member Posts: 147
    Options
    w h question

Thanks Rufus,

How about if the W/H is used as a place to store hot (180*F) water with the electric elements or gas burner not used, hence, less thermal stress? Could a typical "glass lined" tank last many years?
  • not a tech

but from life experience i bet higher temp does result in earlier failure. 1 lp water heater i can remember leaked near the top in the vent hole.

current thought is , i think, to keep water as not so hot & crank it up every 6 weeks for however long so to sanitize the tank. I forget the details & dont even do so myself...my water is municipally treated _ i prefer beer
  • rlaggren
    rlaggren Member Posts: 160
    Options
    Electric HWHs