Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Metal plenum with cast iron heat echanger - what is it ?

Options
SJS55
SJS55 Member Posts: 2
I am a home inspector inspecting a large antique home in Cambridge MA

The house has a hot water boiler connected to two-pipe cast iron radiators

However it has six metal plenums with cast iron heat exchangers.

Hot water is supplied to the exchangers and is returned to the boiler.

Old spiral metal ducts provide gravity hot air thru registers to the 1st floor

from this plenum.  There are access panels into the plenum.  These plenums have to be approx. 100 years old

What is this system called ?

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    Options
    That is an indirect heating system...

Back in the era of cheap energy, it drew its incoming air from outside (100%). I am guessing that their outside air connection has been eliminated, and they draw air from within the dwelling.

ME

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• Brad White
    Brad White Member Posts: 2,398
    edited February 2011
    Options
    It also

could have been a mix of outside air and return air. Some houses of that era had 100% outside air to certain spaces such as nurseries and sick rooms for the health benefits. Others had entirely recirculated air.  Earlier systems, dating from the 1880's or earlier indeed had 100% outside air. As Mark said, some later thought may have modified the source of incoming air.