Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gravity hot water heat.

Options
mchema
mchema Member Posts: 37
I am new to hot water systems due to the fact I have lived with one

pipe heat for some time. Currently, my husband and I are looking at a

home built in 1910 that's a gravity hot water system. The problem is

the house has not had heat for 4 YEARS! Supposedly the system has been

drained "properly." I don't know what that means but the huge old

boiler must be removed per the gas company. Now my question is how

likely would leaking occur in the systems once it's back on line with a

new boiler? How brittle do pipes and cast iron get going through

extreme hot and cold seasonal changes?

I don't want to get rid of the beautiful direct and indirect rads.  But

I am worried that things were not properly winterized.  Mini duct might

have to be an option :( 

Comments

• Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited February 2011
    Options
    Try before you buy

I would have a home inspection done first.  If you really want the house I would write in the contract that the heating system must be operable once up, and running, or seller is liable for repairs at their expense. Or a new home warranty.  Is the new boiler going to be on you or the seller? Or is this an as is situation?

If the system was PROPERLY drained before subject to freezing temps it should be okay.

The only possible issue I see is the pipes being dry for 4 years will roughen up on the inside. This will change the dynamics of the flow once the system is operational again if it still ends up being a gravity one, but chances are they will put a circulator in with the new boiler install.

I'm not a heating pro, but this is what I see to look out for. Maybe someone will chime in here with a possibly different opinion.

Gordy
  • mchema