Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Staple up conversion

Options
I am a contractor and I hired a plumbing contractor to convert base board heat to staple up in floor for a customer of mine. The plumber unhooked from the old base board and tied into the loop for the in-floor and called it good. I have been led to believe that a mix valve and manifold system should have been installed. I would like to hear opinions on proper hook ups please. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Gordan
    Gordan Member Posts: 891
    Options
    Describe the staple-up

Stapled directly to the subfloor, or suspended tube, or were heat transfer plates used (and which ones - stamped or extruded.) Also, what's the heat source, and what supply temperature is it set for?
  • redwing
    redwing Member Posts: 5
    Options
    Staple up conversion

Thanks . Its pex tubing stapled right against floor with r-38 foil insulation over. burnham boiler water supply temp is 180  I believe.
  • Gordan
    Options
    Some more questions...

What spacing? What tubing - what size, does it have an oxygen diffusion barrier, what are the loop lengths? What flooring is on top?

In short, you've got cause for concern. Uneven floor heating and thermal expansion noises are a possibility, and so is flooring damage. In addition, the output of this kind of system is typically limited. Have you tried to use this yet?
  • redwing
    Options
    more specs

Thanks Gordon for answering. Its half inch red pex spaced approx. 10 inches apart. Two zones one is 300ft long and the other 320ft. Subfloor is 3/4 t&g osb with carpet.
  • redwing
    Options
    more