Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

my experience trying to remove a rusty elbow

Options
I am a novice to steam, we just bought an old house with an old steam system. But thought someone might find my adventure interesting . . . .

My first repair was to remove the old main vent and replace with a Gorton #2. It required extending the piping with a nipple and new elbow because the Gorton was too tall in the old location and would have hit the joist.

I bought all the parts and pieces to do the job, but I tried and tried and tried, and could not unscrew the old rusty parts.

So I went to strictly steam, and searched the archives. Lots of great advice. I learned that in my case the only solution was to crack the old cast iron elbow.

But I did not have a sledgehammer (nor the nerve to use it). And I did not have a sawzall handy -- and anyway, there is a lack of control with an electric saw -- I would be too afraid of cutting the threads of the pipe I needed to remain in place.

But I did have an electric drill. So I drilled holes in the elbow. Lots and lots of them. It took forever, but it was very easy to control. At the connection to the threaded pipe, I drilled only so deep so that I'd exactly miss the threads. There were so many holes that it took almost no pressure to break it apart and expose clean threads. Pictures are below.

The oddest part of the adventure was that I found an acorn INSIDE the elbow that I cut apart. God knows how some mouse got it in there -- probably when the system was down and being repaired -- I guess the mouse found it an amenable place to store food. This nut probably floated to the top and was pushed against my main vent, blocking the air flow for who knows how long.

Anyway, the acorn is gone, the vent is replaced, and the house is warm again.