Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Uneven heating in two mains - incorrect piping? i posted pics - please help!

sean_b
sean_b Member Posts: 31
Hello all, I have a question about how my new steam system is piped

and if it might be the cause of some of the problems I am having with

it.  I am completely new to steam heat but have been coming to this site

for a couple months now and have learned a ton! It has been an

invaluable resource!Sorry for the long post, but I figured more

information the better - I hope someone might be able to point me in the

right direction - this has been a seemingly endless process of trial

and error chasing down the issues with this system.  Very frustrating.

I put up a couple pics showing how the new boiler is piped.  A

little background is that the old burnham boiler died and had to be

replaced.  The heating co. basically put in a new smith series 8

3-section boiler to replace the old using all existing piping as much as

possible I think.  Basically the main problem I am having right now is

very uneven heat from the radiators in the rear of the house vs the

front of the house.  The rear rads take forever to heat up, and the

front rads all heat very fast (minutes).  You can see that there are two

mains.  The steam comes out of the riser, makes a couple 90 deg turns

and then hits a riser to a main that I call the front main (all

radiators on the front of the house are fed from this main).  It then

travels a bit further maybe 12 to 18 inches or so then hits the second

riser that goes to the rear main which feeds all radiators on the rear

of the house.  Both mains seem to vent well and heat up fast - the front

main does heat up faster for sure but the rear main is only a couple

mins behind it seems.  though maybe not quite as hot.  Remember the