Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

water pressure

Options
Smiley
Smiley Member Posts: 6
Hopefully this is the right place for this question. I'm looking at

installing a Simar in line booster pump on my existing well water

system. I'm an hvac contractor but never had to do anything with water

pressure except PRV's on boilers. Anyone had any experience with these?

good, bad indifferent?  Thanks.

Comments

• World Plumber
    World Plumber Member Posts: 389
    Options
    Booster

Never worked with the ready made ones, but have built booster system with good results. Your using a pump to raise the pressure so you should go into an expansion tank. Can you pressure switch be adjusted on your well pump to get the pressure you need. I have built them because of the rise above the supply. One on a mountain top the water supply pressure entering the line at 160 psi and only tricked out at the top. The other in a Chateau where the water stopped running on the top floor if someone opened a faucet below.

Most of the well system I have been able to get better pressure by adjusting the pressure switch.

How high is your pump lifting the water?
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Options
    Water Pressure:

You have more issues than a water booster system.

What kind of a well pump do you have?

What kind of well do you have? Is it a 4" casing with a submersible pump with the pump in the casing or is it an ejector pump with the pump on the ground with line(s) going down the well.

How far to water.

How many GPM's does the well produce.

It's important because it determines whether you can use a booster pump or just need a different pump. Actually, you don't need a booster pump.

Give me the information and I will tell you what you can do. 
  • TonyS
    TonyS Member Posts: 849
    edited January 2011