Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

learn geothermal heating systems

realolman
realolman Member Posts: 513
I am an industrial mechanic who recently moved.  My new house has geothermal hot air heat .  I installed and maintained my last house's heating system (oil - hot water) , and I knew pretty much everything about it...

I know zippo about geothermal heat, but I feel as though I need to learn fast, because everything breaks sooner or later, and I can't stand the thought of not knowing how to fix or maintain my heating system.

I have googled the stuff, but seem to only be able to come up with the most simplistic of explanations... can someone recommend something I can read to gain some realistic technical knowlege on the subject?

thanks

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,852
    Whose systems is it?

I'd recommend starting with the manufacturers O&M manuals. It would also be helpful to know if you are dealing with vertical bore holes or horizontal loop fields for the heat source.

What is your general impression of the comfort conditions delivered by this air based system? I've heard that the discharge air temps can be rather cool, and if you are near a terminus, uncomfortably cool...

ME

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• TonyS
    TonyS Member Posts: 849
    Climatemaster

Here is a link to their website http://residential.climatemaster.com/owners-area2 just pick a unit and they have the install manuals and owners manuals in PDF.

I have a water to water unit in my home, there is not much to them, just a heat pump that uses ground water instead of outside air on the condenser( kinda like spraying the garden hose on the condenser in the summer).